Resources for your patients

Ten Footsteps: Your Journey to Living Well with Pain

This five page A4 handout is based on the book An Introduction to Living Well with Pain, by Frances Cole.

The book’s ‘ten footsteps’ are:

  • Footstep 1: What do we know about persistent pain?
  • Footstep 2: Acceptance
  • Footstep 3: Pacing every day for better times
  • Footstep 4: Set goals, action plans and rewards
  • Footstep 5: Getting fit and staying active
  • Footstep 6: Managing moods
  • Footstep 7: Sleep well more often
  • Footstep 8: Healthy eating, managing relationships and work
  • Footstep 9: Relaxation and mindfulness
  • Footstep 10: Managing setbacks

The footsteps are summarised in an easily digestible format for your patient, with key messages and tips for each step.

Download Ten Footsteps


Sign up to our newsletter

We produce a regular newsletter for clinicians.
Sign up to receive this here.